The 7 Hold Downs of Kodokan Judo

While the Kodokan formally 'recognizes' 7 hold downs or immobilizations in Judo; there are a myriad of variations that can be applied. The idea behind immobilizations as a method of winning in Judo is that if you can demonstrate control over your opponent for a given amount of time, then you have demonstrated superiority. On April 1, 1997, Kesa Gatame was added to the list of Kodokan 'recognized' immobilizations. On the same date, Hon Kesa Gatame was removed from the list.

Hold Downs with this icon indicate there is a video to accompany the written description.
  Osaekomi Waza (抑込技)  
1. Kuzure Kesa Gatame  
2. Kata Gatame  
3. Kami Shiho Gatame  
4. Kuzure Kami Shiho Gatame  
5. Yoko Shiho Gatame  
6. Tate Shiho Gatame  
7. Kesa Gatame