The Miscellaneous Hold Downs of Kodokan Judo

While the Kodokan formally 'recognizes' 7 hold downs or immobilizations in Judo; there are a myriad of variations that can be applied. The immobilizations listed below are not formally recognized by the Kodokan but are still useful for demonstrating control over an opponent during Shiai. Key to controlling an opponent is that you control at least 2 of the 5 control points of your opponent.

The 5 control points are as follows: Right Shoulder, Left Shoulder, Head/Neck, Right Hip, and Left Hip.

Hold Downs with this icon indicate there is a video to accompany the written description.
  Osaekomi Waza (抑込技)  
1. Makura Kesa Gatame  
2. Ushiro Kesa Gatame  
3. Uki Gatame  
4. Sankaku Gatame  
5. Kuzure Yoko Shiho Gatame  
6. Mune Gatame